Review: Cold Mark - The Complete Saga by Scarlett Dawn | Author Stacey Brutger Skip to main content

Review: Cold Mark - The Complete Saga by Scarlett Dawn

I read the first section of the Cold Mark Saga earlier this year. I can't tell you how disappointed I was when I hit the cliffhanger ending. I wanted more! When I saw the Complete Saga had been released, I couldn't wait to read it. The covers for the whole series rocks!


51KfAFv ilL. SX331


Title: Cold Mark – The Complete Saga

Author: Scarlett Dawn 

Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy -New Adult

Publisher: Self-published via NetGalley

Release date: June 2015

Pages: 429

ASiN: B010R994JQ


stars lazyload 3




Thrown head first into a barbaric world she knows nothing of, Braita Valorn must adapt to a dark life as a slave of the Mian society–her existence depends on it.


Danger lurks, and Braita's lack of knowledge of the planet, Triaz, is now abundantly clear. On a mission to find her best friend, Jax, she must infiltrate the Crank Pit, a brutal complex where Mian enter, only to leave absent a heartbeat.


Braita Valorn is stuck. She has no real freedom, her existence dependent on what the men of Triaz decide. But she desperately wants it to be, and will do anything to capture it.


Judgments are made, an archaic stand within Mian laws, and Braita finds herself charged with treason. But never one to sit during a battle, she risks her last chance of release with blackmail.


Braita Valorn is a disaster walking. One mistake after another on the planet Triaz has landed her in trouble time and again. Will Braita obtain her freedom?  Or will she finally accept a life she never asked for?




Braita has been selected to travel to another world after a natural disaster nearly destroys her own. Her sacrifice will save her people from extinction. Stuck on a barbaric world that values fighting skills, she must use her wits and her sword arm to survive. Determined to regain her freedom, Braita escapes her captors but ends up jumping from the frying pan into the fire. Only by sheer luck is she rescued and her life spared. As she begins to understand the world around her, she must learn to adapt or die.


Both Fall and Sink get 5 stars for me! Unfortunately, things get a little shaky in Stop, then completely crashes and burns in Soar. Just when I really started to get into the book, it fell apart. I ended up so frustrated with Braita that I didn't really care if she got her happy ending or not. In the beginning, I found her headstrong and willing to fight for what she believed. I loved her courage. By the end of the book, she had lied, cheated, stolen and manipulated everyone around her, coming off as a spoiled brat. I just couldn't root for a woman willing to physically and mentally hurt others just to get what she wanted. Her character does a complete 180 from Fall and Sink, turning her into a huge hypocrite. While I did enjoyed the supporting characters, I felt sorry that they ended up stuck with her. It almost felt like someone else finished the series, substituting Braita with a different person. Despite the great world building and wonderful action sequences, I was so disappointed in the ending that I can't rate this book more than 3 stars. Cold Mark could've been so good. Very disappointing.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Where to Buy

  • Buy on Amazon
  • Buy from Audible

Stacey’s audiobooks are also available at Apple Books and Kobo!